Mount Rainier National Park

Standard

On Tuesday, my parents and brother drove over to Olympic National Park.  After our busy day on Monday, and with what we had planned for later in the week, I decided it was best for Baby Boy and I to stay home and rest a bit.  We were going to try to keep somewhat of our normal schedule, but while we were out running errands and driving to Gymboree, he started sneezing, coughing, and his eyes looked tired.  I turned around and headed home.  Baby Boy came down with a mild cold that he quickly got over, but not before he shared it with me.  I’m still trying to get over it.  Bleh.

I think Mt. Rainier Nat’l Park is by far my favorite place we have gone to in the Seattle area.  It was lovely.  We stayed at a historic lodge in the park called Paradise Inn.  We were some of the lucky guests who had a bathroom in their room.  It was a very tiny bathroom.  I teased John not to drop the soap in the shower because there wasn’t room to bend over to pick it up.  My mom had the same thought and told my dad and brother the same thing,  It was the perfect size for giving Baby Boy a shower.  Usually he doesn’t care to take a shower and panics a bit, but this one had low enough water pressure that he actually enjoyed his shower.

We didn’t pack the hiking backpack carrier thing.  John wasn’t sure he would be able to make the trip until the last minute, and I didn’t want to carry Baby Boy up a mountain.  Plus Baby Boy still isn’t crazy about riding in the carrier.  He much prefers the stroller.  John and I took turns pushing the stroller up and then back down the trails.  Well…we didn’t push it down the mountain per se, we more or less acted like the brakes for it.  It was completely worth it though.  Also, we really, really love our BOB stroller.  There’s no way we could have done what we did with a different stroller.

And now for a lot of pictures:

CIMG4581

You can just make out the inn through the trees.

You can see the inn through the trees.

Another view of the inn.

Another view of the inn.

We had lunch at the inn, then we headed off on a hike.  It was supposed to have been an easy .2 miles to a waterfall, but I ended up taking a wrong turn and leading the group up a much more challenging hike to a glacier.  BUT it was worth it.  Right family?

We had lunch at the inn, then we headed off on a hike. It was supposed to have been an easy .2 miles to a waterfall, but I ended up taking a wrong turn and leading the group up a much more challenging hike to a glacier. BUT it was worth it. Right family?

So beautiful

So beautiful

Wrong turn?  Baby Boy doesn't mind.  He slept the whole way.

Wrong turn? Baby Boy doesn’t mind. He slept the whole way.

These pictures do not accurately show just how steep of a climb this was.

These pictures do not accurately show just how steep of a climb this was.

A photo op or an excuse to sit?

A photo op or an excuse to sit?

Granddad and Nana

Granddad and Nana

Still napping

Still napping

Behind the smiles they're thinking, "We are never letting her walk in front ever again!"

Behind the smiles they’re thinking, “We are never letting her walk in front ever again!”

This was as close to the top as we got.

This was as close to the top as we got.

The fog/clouds were really cool to see from this height.

The fog/clouds were really cool to see from this height.

Relaxing in the lobby after dinner.

Relaxing in the lobby after dinner.

But not for too long.  Granddad and Baby Boy went for a walk around the inn.

But not for too long. Granddad and Baby Boy went for a walk around the inn.

Our room had 2 beds.  John had one all to himself (lucky) and Baby Boy and I shared one.  We had the pack n play with us, but used to has a guard rail since Baby Boy wouldn't sleep in it.  John was out by 8:30pm. 8-9:15pm was spent with Baby Boy pretending to sleep, then kissing me and pretending to go back to sleep or getting as close to my face face as possible without touching it and holding the position until I opened my eyes.  I dozed off around 9:30pm but was rudely awoken when someone bit my nose.  He finally fell asleep around 9:45pm, and I don't even know what time I eventually fell back asleep.    In this picture he's watching Sesame Street on the iPad while John and I got ready the next morning.

Our room had 2 beds. John had one all to himself (lucky) and Baby Boy and I shared one. We had the pack n play with us, but used it as a guard rail since Baby Boy wouldn’t sleep in it. John was sound asleep by 8:30pm. 8-9:15pm was spent with Baby Boy pretending to sleep, then kissing me and pretending to go back to sleep or getting as close to my face face as possible without touching it and holding the position until I opened my eyes. I dozed off around 9:30pm but was rudely awoken when someone bit my nose. He finally fell asleep around 9:45pm, and I don’t even know what time I eventually fell back asleep. In this picture he’s watching Sesame Street on the iPad while John and I got ready the next morning.

The next morning we decided to try again for the .2  mile hike to the waterfall.

The next morning we decided to try again for the .2 mile hike to the waterfall.

We made it this time.

We made it this time.

I'm ready to go back.

Two days were not enough.  I’m ready to go back.

A typical scene from the trip:  one of us trying to catch a runaway Baby Boy.

A typical scene from the trip: one of us trying to catch a runaway Baby Boy.

We drove from Paradise to Sunrise.  On a clear day, the mountain is perfectly reflected in the water.

We drove from Paradise to Sunrise. On a clear day, the mountain is perfectly reflected in the water.

Driving through the clouds/fog in our rented "swagger wagon."

Driving through the clouds/fog in our rented “swagger wagon.”

Looking at a river.

Looking at a river.

One of the highlights of the trip was the first day at lunch.  The waiter went around the table taking everyone’s drink orders.  When it was Baby Boy’s turn, he politely asked, “coffee please?”

This was by far my most favorite thing we’ve done since we’ve lived up here!  If you ever have a chance to come to Seattle, this is worth a couple days of your time.

One response »

Leave a Reply

