A Taste of Home

Standard

I was very excited to find a very special package in our mailbox today.

Seattle has many things to offer, but there are a few things that it lacks.  Two that immediately come to mind are Ranch Style Beans and Blue Bell Ice Cream.  After searching high and low for Ranch Style Beans, my mom kindly offered to mail some to us.  Thank you Mom/Nana!

Yes.  She mailed us a huge box of Ranch Style Beans.  🙂  According to the lady working at the post office, the top two items that are shipped from TX in that size flat rate box are Wolf Brand Chili and Ranch Style Beans.

I have a few recipes that call for Ranch Style Beans, but the one I make more frequently because it’s just so easy and “appetite pleasin’ ” I’ve listed below.  In fact, we’ll be having it for dinner tomorrow night.  My mom has been making this since I was little, so I don’t know where the recipe originated.

2 cans Ranch Style Beans

1 lb hamburger

1 onion, chopped

8 oz can of tomato sauce

garlic (to taste)

Brown hamburger meat with the onion and garlic.  Drain grease.  Add in beans and tomato sauce.  Mix well.

Serve over rice, baked potato, hotdog, etc.

 

3 responses »

  1. For the history of your recipe you’ll have to ask your Granny. It was a favorite and regular meal as I was growing up also. Bon Appetite Y’all!

Leave a Reply

