6 Months Old!

Standard

Where did the time go?  How is he already 6 months old?!?!?

Weight: 20 lbs (85th percentile)

Height: 28″ (95th percentile)

Clothing:  He’s in 12 month and 12-18 month clothes, but I’m still stuffing him in a few 9 month outfits because those are the largest of his cold weather clothes.  This past week we woke up to snow on the ground, so no spring and summer clothes yet.

Diaper Size:  Daytime – 3s, Nighttime – 4s.

This past month Baby Boy has been rolling, rolling, and rolling.  He loves to roll, and he’s getting really quick at it too.  He can sit unassisted for a few seconds, but then he tilts over and is off rolling again.  I suspect he could sit up longer if he wanted, but I guess sitting is not as much fun as rolling.  A few times now he’s pulled himself up onto his elbows and knees and rocked.  It won’t be too long now before I’m chasing a crawling baby around.  He’s already keeping me busy with his rolling.  We hid the cable modem from him, but yesterday he discovered how to turn on our printer causing the screen to light up and the paper tray to swing out.  He’s already rolled back to the printer several times to try to find the on button again.

Now where was that button...

He still finds a lot of the words funny that he’s liked in previous months.  Parfait, velociraptor, and t-rex are still favorites, but now he gets the giggles when we make silly faces.  John has gotten Baby Boy laughing hard a few times by doing Monty Python quotes in a British accent.  (Yes, they let us take home a baby)  All 3 of us end up laughing.  Baby Boy’s laughter is very infectious.  We can’t help but at least smile when he giggles.  A few more funny words and phrases this past month: chilly willy, 401(k), bath time, and duckie.

When John gets home from work, he plays with Baby Boy.  One of their “games” is to go around the apartment identifying objects and letting Baby Boy touch them.  They might practice counting the numbers on the clock, or talk about the food in the pantry, or push buttons on the microwave.  One night I had gone to change clothes for bed.  While I was in the bedroom, I could hear John singing in a British accent:

We don’t need no education

We don’t need no thought control

No dark sarcasm in the classroom

Teacher leave them kids alone!

All in all it’s just another brick in the wall

All in all you’re just another brick in the wall

Followed by, “This is a wall, Baby Boy.  A wall.”  Then he put Baby Boy’s hands on the wall to let him feel it.

And since I told a story about John, I’ll tell a little one on myself.  Baby Boy likes the word “t-rex,” so one night I started saying T-REX in a high pitched voice and did my best t-rex impression.  Not sure if Baby Boy was laughing because I looked so ridiculous, but John was definitely laughing because I looked so ridiculous.  It’s amazing what lengths we will go to get Baby Boy to giggle. And no, I will not demonstrate my t-rex impression for you.  🙂

At the 6 month check-up, his pediatrician went over starting solid foods with us.  We will start with rice cereal, then move on the green veggies like peas and green beans before adding the orange ones like sweet potatoes and carrots.  Apparently some babies that start with the orange veggies can turn orange.  Our pediatrician said it’s harmless, but looks disturbing.  Yeah…I think we’re going to follow his suggestion so we don’t end up with an Oompa Loompa baby.  I think Baby Boy will like solids.  He studies whatever we’re eating, and watches our spoon or fork go from plate to mouth with interest.  We’ve been practicing having him sit in his high chair with us at the dinner table.  Just a 2 weeks ago he would start to slump over after a few minutes, but now he sits up strong.  I haven’t cleaned food off the chair yet, but I’ve wiped down drool and spit-up.  I highly recommend the OXO tot sprout high chair.  It’s so easy to use, and so easy to clean.  It has a small footprint for a high chair, was easy for John to put together (he really appreciates those easy to assemble baby products), and it’s durable.

testing out the new high chair

Another favorite activity of his is playing with blankets and clothes.  When he combines playing with blankets and clothes with rolling, well, it just doesn’t get too much better than that.  He also likes to cover his face with a blanket, burp rag, or whatever is available.  We’ll ask, “Where’d you go?” and he pulls the fabric down and smiles at us.  Then we say “There you are!”  We can play A LOT of rounds of this game.

Happy because he rolled into the pile of laundry I was sorting

Trying to roll off with a pair of daddy's pants

Where did you go?

There you are!

Rolling with his blanket

Baby Boy also loves to wear stripes!  I noticed that he would stare at his white and red striped Christmas socks, so I picked up a few pairs of striped socks and some baby leg warmers.  The only problem with them is he gets so fascinated by them, I can’t always get him to look at the camera.

Almost got it!

YES

please look at mommy

And a few favorites:

John reading to Baby Boy

fingers are yummy

so happy

Valentine's Day outfit

ready to go for a run

such a sweet baby

And my absolute favorites:

precious

LOVE

Leave a comment